Why I am choosing to wait..

July 3, 2016 was that last time I engaged in sexual intercourse. From Henny shots, to going to a strip club.. it was a crazy night to say the least. In that moment I thought I was having the time of my life, I was getting free liquor, some attention and dick! However, that feeling of being elated did not last long. The next morning, the consequences of instant gratification set in and he got what he wanted and was out. There was no text to check if I got home safely, no sweet message after the fact and a week later he could not even wish me a happy birthday! Unfortunately,  this wasn’t the first time this  happened to me. Time after time, I would always get the feeling of being used and unappreciated when I would sacrifice my body for instant gratification. But this time was different, I had enough.

Originally, I only planned to be celibate for a year. The idea of waiting until marriage to have sex was unimaginable. How can I  possibly go five plus years without having sex? I realized the answer is, through God. This revelation of deciding to wait a year before having sex was God preparing me for my waiting season. The moment I decided to be celibate, God knew his plans for me but I was unaware of God’s plans for myself. It was only until seven months into my celibacy, I decided to wait until marriage. Initially, I decided to be celibate because I was tired of men using me and only receiving five minutes of gratification. However, after reading The Wait by, DeVon Franklin and Meagan Good, I realized the wait has a lot more benefits to an individual mentally, physically and spiritually.

“Being the best version of yourself, you get what you want most out of life- the love of your life, a wonderful family, a prosperous career, and a meaningful life purpose- becomes truly possible. (Franklin and Good)” Practicing the wait is not only about abstaining from sex, it is way more than that. It is about putting yourself first and focusing on building a better relationship with God. This will align you with God’s perfect will for your life in all areas. I know I cannot be the best version of my self if I am engaging my time and energy with men, who God has not chosen for me. So I decided to wait, until God presents me with the man he has chosen for me to be with. Until then I am working on creating the best version of myself in all aspects of my life.

Going years without penis is going to be the struggle, send me some prayers. What’s the longest you’ve gone without sex?

2 thoughts on “Why I am choosing to wait..

Leave a Reply

